Collapse
X
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

YouTube

So I recently set up a YouTube and although I haven't posted on it in a while, I want to but I'm seeing all these YouTube videos that talk about the trolls, haters and stalkers and damn some of them are kinda scary. I recently started learning camp craft because I did camp craft as a cadet and hope to one day make videos about it but these videos are making me rethink that.
    Here is the video that sparked this post

When the comments are being shown in the video, pause it and read them, they're scary.

What do you guys think about being a YouTubeer? I've wanted to do it since I was 16 but thank god I didn't or who knows how my mental health and insecurities would be.

I wonder if the darebee YouTube gets crap like this? Redline

IWillGoSuperSaiyan you started a YouTube recently and you're quite young, I'd watch this video and prepare yourself if you're going to keep at it.

I won't get into the whole discussion about how bad of an idea I think is putting your person out into the public if you don't need to (because that's not the issue here), but I at least will leave my opinion on the matter here (btw, I haven't watched that video because I don't care for the person in it):
    The internet can be a fun and informative place. It can also be a very scary, hateful and manipulative place (keep the last two things in mind). Most of the time, if you keep a low profile, you, as a real person (with that I mean real name, real face, etc.) won't come into contact with the hateful part. If you're behind a pseudonym and don't show your face (and keep some precautions in mind) you can safely ignore every hateful comment or deaththreat thrown your way.